Skip to content

Linear vs Retool: startup credits compared

Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.

At a glance

FactLinearRetool
ValueUp to 6 months of Linear Business free100% off Team/Business for 1 year (up to $60K), then 25% off year 2
TypeFree planDiscount
Duration6 months1 year
StagesPre-seed, Seed, Series APre-seed, Seed, Series A, Bootstrapped
RegionsGlobalGlobal
Max funding raisedNot stated$10,000,000
Max company ageNot stated10 years
Ways to get it
  • Official Linear partners (investors, accelerators, communities) — Up to 6 months Business plan free
  • Apply directly — 100% off year 1 (up to $60K), 25% off year 2
  • Retool deal-book partners (VC funds, accelerators, incubators) — Same startup offer shared through partner deal books
Requirements
  • Fewer than 50 employees
  • Non-paying Linear user
  • Affiliated with an official Linear partner
  • Under $10M in total funding
  • Founded within the last 10 years
  • New Retool customer on the monthly Team or Business plan
Not eligible
  • Companies with 50 or more employees (contact sales instead)
  • Existing paying Linear customers
  • Series B and later companies
  • Organizations previously in the program
  • Annual plans and sales-negotiated discounts
VerificationVerified· Nov 3, 2026Verified· Nov 3, 2026

Which should you pick?

The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Retool accepts a wider range of funding stages, while Linear is more targeted. Retool credits last longer (12 months versus 6). If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.