Skip to content

Databricks vs Snowflake: startup credits compared

Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.

At a glance

FactDatabricksSnowflake
ValueUp to $200K in Databricks + Neon creditsFree usage on first contract (Startup Package); Accelerator credits and GTM support
TypeCreditsCredits + discount
DurationNot statedNot stated
StagesPre-seed, Seed, Series APre-seed, Seed, Series A
RegionsGlobalGlobal
Max funding raisedNot statedNot stated
Max company ageNot statedNot stated
Ways to get it
  • Apply directly — Up to $200K credits
  • Databricks partner VCs (a16z, Battery, General Catalyst, Insight, Menlo, NEA) — Referral route into the program
  • Apply directly — Free usage on first contract
  • Apply directly — Startup Accelerator: credits, technical and GTM support (up to 6 months)
  • Snowflake VC Community partner funds — Portfolio-wide free usage offers
  • AWS — Up to $1M in Snowflake credits on AWS over four years (2025 announcement)
Requirements
  • Venture-backed, early-stage company (recently raised institutional funding, pre-seed to Series A)
  • Startup building on Snowflake (Accelerator: customer-facing applications)
  • Startup Challenge: no Series B or later raised
Not eligible
  • Later-stage or bootstrapped companies (not the stated target; detailed criteria unpublished)
  • AI Accelerator Program is invitation-only
  • Existing Snowflake customers past their first contract (Startup Package)
  • Later-stage companies for the Startup Challenge
VerificationVerified· Nov 3, 2026Partially verified· Nov 3, 2026

Which should you pick?

The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Both accept the same range of funding stages. Note that only Databricks is fully verified against its official page; double-check the other before relying on it. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.