Skip to content

Databricks vs MotherDuck: startup credits compared

Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.

At a glance

FactDatabricksMotherDuck
ValueUp to $200K in Databricks + Neon credits50% off: $16,000 of MotherDuck for an $8,000 annual commitment
TypeCreditsDiscount
DurationNot stated1 year
StagesPre-seed, Seed, Series APre-seed, Seed, Bootstrapped
RegionsGlobalGlobal
Max funding raisedNot stated$5,000,000
Max company ageNot statedNot stated
Ways to get it
  • Apply directly — Up to $200K credits
  • Databricks partner VCs (a16z, Battery, General Catalyst, Insight, Menlo, NEA) — Referral route into the program
  • Apply directly — $16,000 of MotherDuck for $8,000
  • MotherDuck partner VCs and accelerators (e.g. a16z, Techstars, YC) — Offer shared through partner deal books (terms not published)
Requirements
  • Venture-backed, early-stage company (recently raised institutional funding, pre-seed to Series A)
  • Less than $5M in VC funding (bootstrapped companies included)
  • Fewer than 20 employees
  • Active website, not in stealth
  • Not an existing paying MotherDuck customer (Free-plan users can apply)
Not eligible
  • Later-stage or bootstrapped companies (not the stated target; detailed criteria unpublished)
  • AI Accelerator Program is invitation-only
  • MotherDuck customers on paid plans
  • Cannot be combined with other offers
VerificationVerified· Nov 3, 2026Verified· Nov 4, 2026

Which should you pick?

The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Both accept the same range of funding stages. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.