Skip to content

Braintrust vs LangChain: startup credits compared

Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.

At a glance

FactBraintrustLangChain
Value6 months of Braintrust Pro free (12 months via partner VCs)Up to $10,000 in LangSmith credits (Scale) or discounted seats (Build)
TypeFree planCredits + discount
Duration1 year1 year
StagesPre-seed, Seed, Series APre-seed, Seed, Series A
RegionsGlobalGlobal
Max funding raisedNot stated$50,000,000
Max company ageNot statedNot stated
Ways to get it
  • Apply directly — 6 months of Pro
  • Braintrust partner VCs (Accel, Founders Fund, Khosla, Kleiner Perkins, YC) — 12 months of Pro
  • LangChain premier VC partners — $10K LangSmith credits for 1 year (Scale tier)
  • Y Combinator — $10K LangSmith credits valid for 2 years
  • Apply directly — Discounted seat pricing (Build tier)
Requirements
  • New Braintrust customer
  • Raised at least $100K in funding
  • Series A or an earlier funding stage
  • Scale: Series A or earlier (up to $50M raised) and backed by a premier VC partner
  • Build: first-time customer, under $10M raised, at least $25K seed funding
Not eligible
  • Existing Braintrust customers
  • Startups past Series A
  • Companies that have raised less than $100K
  • Existing paying LangSmith customers are not eligible for the Build tier
VerificationVerified· Nov 4, 2026Verified· Nov 3, 2026

Which should you pick?

The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Both accept the same range of funding stages. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.