Porter vs Render: startup credits compared
Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.
PorterPorter free for 6 months (up to 25 vCPU and 50 GB RAM of monthly usage)Verified Nov 4, 2026Render$500 to $100,000 in Render credits by tier, valid 1 year from approvalVerified Nov 3, 2026
At a glance
| Fact | Porter | Render |
|---|---|---|
| Value | Porter free for 6 months (up to 25 vCPU and 50 GB RAM of monthly usage) | $500 to $100,000 in Render credits by tier, valid 1 year from approval |
| Type | Free plan | Credits |
| Duration | 6 months | 1 year |
| Stages | Pre-seed, Seed, Series A, Series B+ | Pre-seed, Seed, Series A |
| Regions | Global | Global |
| Max funding raised | Not stated | $50,000,000 |
| Max company age | Not stated | 5 years |
| Ways to get it |
|
|
| Requirements |
|
|
| Not eligible |
|
|
| Verification | Partially verified· Nov 4, 2026 | Verified· Nov 3, 2026 |
Which should you pick?
The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Porter accepts a wider range of funding stages, while Render is more targeted. Render credits last longer (12 months versus 6). Note that only Render is fully verified against its official page; double-check the other before relying on it. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.