GitLab vs JetBrains: startup credits compared
Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.
GitLabFree Ultimate (20 seats) for 12 months then 50% off, or 50% / 25% off for Series A-BVerified Nov 3, 2026JetBrains50% off up to 10 IDE, team-tool and AI subscriptions for 5 yearsVerified Nov 3, 2026
At a glance
| Fact | GitLab | JetBrains |
|---|---|---|
| Value | Free Ultimate (20 seats) for 12 months then 50% off, or 50% / 25% off for Series A-B | 50% off up to 10 IDE, team-tool and AI subscriptions for 5 years |
| Type | Credits + discount | Discount |
| Duration | 1 year | 5 years |
| Stages | Pre-seed, Seed, Series A, Series B+ | Pre-seed, Seed, Series A, Bootstrapped |
| Regions | Global | Global |
| Max funding raised | $20,000,000 | Not stated |
| Max company age | Not stated | 5 years |
| Ways to get it |
|
|
| Requirements |
|
|
| Not eligible |
|
|
| Verification | Verified· Nov 3, 2026 | Verified· Nov 3, 2026 |
Which should you pick?
The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Both accept the same range of funding stages. JetBrains credits last longer (60 months versus 12). If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.