Skip to content

Atlassian vs GitLab: startup credits compared

Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.

At a glance

FactAtlassianGitLab
ValueJira, Confluence, Loom, Bitbucket Premium free for 12 months, up to 50 usersFree Ultimate (20 seats) for 12 months then 50% off, or 50% / 25% off for Series A-B
TypeFree planCredits + discount
Duration1 year1 year
StagesPre-seed, Seed, Series APre-seed, Seed, Series A, Series B+
RegionsGlobalGlobal
Max funding raised$10,000,000$20,000,000
Max company ageNot statedNot stated
Ways to get it
  • Apply directly — Free Premium products for 12 months, up to 50 users
  • Partner accelerators, incubators and VCs — Same 12-month offer shared with portfolio companies
  • Apply directly — Free Ultimate, 20 seats, 50k compute minutes/month for 12 months, then 50% off
  • Apply directly — 50% off year 1, 25% off year 2, up to 20 users (Early Stage tier)
Requirements
  • VC-funded or associated with a partner accelerator/incubator
  • No more than US$10M raised externally
  • Not an existing Atlassian paid customer
  • Externally funded (VC, accelerator) with verifiable proof
  • Up to $5M raised for the free tier; up to $20M for the discount tier
Not eligible
  • Existing Atlassian paid customers
  • Companies with more than US$10M in external funding
  • Teams needing more than 50 users (must upgrade to paid)
  • Bootstrapped companies (program is for externally funded companies only)
  • Paying GitLab customers within the past calendar year
VerificationVerified· Nov 3, 2026Verified· Nov 3, 2026

Which should you pick?

The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. GitLab accepts a wider range of funding stages, while Atlassian is more targeted. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.