Modal vs Runpod: startup credits compared
Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.
ModalFree Modal credits, tiered by stage (amount set on approval)Verified Nov 3, 2026Runpod$1K (Starter) or $5K (Venture) in GPU credits; bonus credits on $25K+ commitsVerified Nov 4, 2026
At a glance
| Fact | Modal | Runpod |
|---|---|---|
| Value | Free Modal credits, tiered by stage (amount set on approval) | $1K (Starter) or $5K (Venture) in GPU credits; bonus credits on $25K+ commits |
| Type | Credits | Credits |
| Duration | Not stated | 1 year |
| Stages | Seed, Series A, Series B+ | Pre-seed, Seed, Series A, Series B+, Bootstrapped |
| Regions | Global | Global |
| Max funding raised | Not stated | Not stated |
| Max company age | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ways to get it |
|
|
| Requirements |
|
|
| Not eligible |
|
|
| Verification | Partially verified· Nov 3, 2026 | Verified· Nov 4, 2026 |
Which should you pick?
The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Runpod accepts a wider range of funding stages, while Modal is more targeted. Note that only Runpod is fully verified against its official page; double-check the other before relying on it. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.