GitHub vs GitLab: startup credits compared
Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.
GitHub$10,000 in GitHub credits for up to 12 monthsVerified Nov 3, 2026GitLabFree Ultimate (20 seats) for 12 months then 50% off, or 50% / 25% off for Series A-BVerified Nov 3, 2026
At a glance
| Fact | GitHub | GitLab |
|---|---|---|
| Value | $10,000 in GitHub credits for up to 12 months | Free Ultimate (20 seats) for 12 months then 50% off, or 50% / 25% off for Series A-B |
| Type | Credits | Credits + discount |
| Duration | 1 year | 1 year |
| Stages | Pre-seed, Seed, Series A, Series B+ | Pre-seed, Seed, Series A, Series B+ |
| Regions | Global | Global |
| Max funding raised | Not stated | $20,000,000 |
| Max company age | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ways to get it |
|
|
| Requirements |
|
|
| Not eligible |
|
|
| Verification | Verified· Nov 3, 2026 | Verified· Nov 3, 2026 |
Which should you pick?
The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. Both accept the same range of funding stages. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.