fal vs Modal: startup credits compared
Side-by-side amounts, eligibility and access paths, both verified against the official program pages.
fal$1K–$5K (Startup Program, Europe and Asia) or $10K–$50K via YC, a16z or Entrepreneur FirstVerified Nov 4, 2026ModalFree Modal credits, tiered by stage (amount set on approval)Verified Nov 3, 2026
At a glance
| Fact | fal | Modal |
|---|---|---|
| Value | $1K–$5K (Startup Program, Europe and Asia) or $10K–$50K via YC, a16z or Entrepreneur First | Free Modal credits, tiered by stage (amount set on approval) |
| Type | Credits | Credits |
| Duration | Not stated | Not stated |
| Stages | Any stage | Seed, Series A, Series B+ |
| Regions | Global | Global |
| Max funding raised | Not stated | Not stated |
| Max company age | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ways to get it |
|
|
| Requirements |
|
|
| Not eligible |
|
|
| Verification | Verified· Nov 4, 2026 | Partially verified· Nov 3, 2026 |
Which should you pick?
The two programs are not directly comparable on dollar value. fal accepts a wider range of funding stages, while Modal is more targeted. Note that only fal is fully verified against its official page; double-check the other before relying on it. If you qualify for both, there is usually no reason not to apply to both; the programs are independent.