Amazon Web Services
AWS Activate Credits
AWS Activate: $1,000-$5,000 self-serve Founders credits, or up to $200,000 Portfolio credits via an Activate Provider.
Worth
Up to $5,000 (Founders) or up to $200,000 (Portfolio) in AWS Activate credits
aws.amazon.com/startups/credits: Founders starts at $1,000, select startups up to $5,000; Portfolio up to $200,000 (Org ID required); AI startups $200,000+ invite-only via account manager. The Activate FAQ app strings still mention 'up to $100,000'; the credits page is treated as authoritative. Expiry date is shown per credit grant in the Billing console; no fixed term is published.
Quick facts
- Value
- Up to $5,000 (Founders) or up to $200,000 (Portfolio) in AWS Activate credits
- Type
- Credits
- Duration
- Not stated
- Stages
- Pre-seed, Seed, Series A, Bootstrapped
- Regions
- Global
- Max funding raised
- Not stated
- Max company age
- 10 years
- Last verified
- Nov 3, 2026 · Verified
Ways to get it
Apply directly
Apply directly
Activate Founders: start with $1,000, select startups up to $5,000
- Bootstrapped or self-funded startup applying directly
- New to Activate Credits, or requesting more than previously received
- Founded in the last 10 years; AWS account on the Paid Tier plan
Apply from the credits page with an AWS Builder ID; no Org ID needed.
Open program pageVia AWS Activate Provider (accelerators, incubators, VCs, angel networks)
Via VC or accelerator partner
Activate Portfolio: up to $200,000 (amount depends on your provider)
- Organization ID (Org ID) from your Activate Provider (accelerator, angel investor or VC)
- Pre-Series B; founded in the last 10 years
- New to Activate Credits, or requesting more than previously received
AI startups ready to scale beyond Portfolio can be invited to $200,000+ in AWS credits via their account manager.
Open program page
Eligibility
Requirements
- Pre-Series B startup
- Founded within the last 10 years
- AWS account on the Paid Tier plan (Free plan accounts are not eligible)
- New to Activate Credits, or requesting more credits than previously received
- Company website or public profile
Not eligible
- Series B and later companies
- Startups building on AWS China Regions (they use AWS Activate China)
- Startups that already received equal or greater Activate Credits
How to apply
- 1
Create an AWS Builder ID with your professional email at aws.amazon.com/startups/credits and complete your profile.
- 2
Choose your tier: Activate Founders if self-funded, or Activate Portfolio with the Org ID from your Activate Provider.
- 3
Describe your product, funding stage and company profile so AWS can confirm eligibility.
- 4
Create or link an AWS account (Paid Tier plan) to your Builder ID and submit; AWS says you will hear back within 5-10 business days (the FAQ says 7-10).
Gotchas
- AWS's own pages disagree on the Portfolio ceiling: the credits page says up to $200,000, while strings in the Activate FAQ app still say up to $100,000. Expect the amount your provider's tier allows, not the ceiling.
- Eligibility wording differs too: the credits page says Pre-Series B, the FAQ says up to and including Series A.
- Credits expire; check the exact date in the Billing and Cost Management console. AWS emails 60 and 30 days before expiry.
- Portfolio requires an Org ID from an Activate Provider; a generic AWS partner is not enough.
- You can re-apply only for a greater amount than before and while under the lifetime maximum; only one application at a time.
- Credits do not cover AWS Marketplace (except third-party Bedrock models), Route 53 domain registration, Professional Services, Training, upfront fees such as Savings Plans, or crypto mining.
About the Amazon Web Services program
AWS Activate is Amazon Web Services' startup credit program. AWS's credits page (aws.amazon.com/startups/credits) lists two self-serve tiers plus an invite-only tier. Activate Founders is for bootstrapped or self-funded startups: you start with $1,000 USD in Activate Credits, and select participants may qualify for additional credits up to $5,000 USD in total.
Activate Portfolio is for Pre-Series B startups affiliated with an AWS Activate Provider (an accelerator, angel investor or venture capital firm in AWS's network). You must apply with an Organization ID (Org ID) from your provider, and the page states up to $200,000 USD in Activate Credits. A third tier, AWS Credits for AI Startups, is invite-only for startups ready to scale after Activate Portfolio: AWS lists $200,000+ and says to talk with your account manager.
Eligibility on the credits page: Pre-Series B, founded in the last 10 years, an AWS account on the Paid Tier plan, and either new to Activate Credits or requesting more credits than previously received. Credits can be used for AWS Eligible Services, including third-party models on Amazon Bedrock. AWS's FAQ says credits have expiration dates (visible in the Billing console, with emails 60 and 30 days before expiry) and that decisions typically take 7-10 business days; the credits page itself says 5-10 business days.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need an investor to get AWS Activate credits?
No. Activate Founders is self-serve for bootstrapped or self-funded startups: you start with $1,000 in credits and select startups may reach $5,000. The larger Portfolio package requires an Organization ID from an AWS Activate Provider such as an accelerator, angel investor or VC.
How much is AWS Activate Portfolio worth, $100,000 or $200,000?
AWS's credits page says up to $200,000 USD for Activate Portfolio. Some strings in the Activate FAQ still reference up to $100,000, and the FAQ's own example offers are $5,000, $25,000 and $100,000. The amount you receive depends on what your Activate Provider offers.
Can AWS Activate credits be used for AI models on Amazon Bedrock?
Yes. AWS's FAQ says Activate Credits are redeemable for third-party models on Amazon Bedrock. AI startups ready to scale beyond Activate can be invited to $200,000+ in AWS credits through their account manager.
Do AWS Activate credits expire?
Yes. AWS says Activate Credits have expiration dates, shown in the Billing and Cost Management console, and emails you 60 and 30 days before expiry. The pages we read do not publish a single fixed term.
